Lazy weekend

I had such a miserable week I was too tired to do anything extravagant this weekend. So I thought I’d post about last weekend.

Friday night I went out for sushi at this really fancy hotel near London Bridge. It was cool because you could watch the chef preparing it. It was also the nicest sushi I’ve had, not hurt by the fact that I was enjoying it with a bottle of champagne. It was pretty awesome. After that I went to a bar in Brixton which is a pretty good weekend spot. I had one of my new favorite drinks. G&T… They are sweet though so I usually switch to gin and soda after one or two. It’s such a British drink πŸ™‚

Saturday I was productive in the morning, I went to the gym and spent the morning marking. In the evening we had a housemates night and went bar hopping in Covent garden. I still don’t completely understand how to distinguish a bar from pub here though… I think we went to both.

Sunday morning I found myself back at the gym with my housemate Jenn. We are a good influence on each other except since we started going to the gym she has lost 4 pounds and I have a pesky extra 4 pounds that just keeps hanging around. (Not that I’ve changed my diet from chocolate and coffee that much). After the gym I met my other housemate Dan around Leicester square. We got lunch at a French bakery (trying to relive Paris) and we sat outside on a curb in Covent garden eating it. It was so sunny it was amazing.

So we didn’t waste the sun, we decided to spend the remainder of our afternoon wandering through Hyde park. Or is it high park. I always get confused about which one is here and which is in Toronto.

When I got home I skyped a friend and then watched my new fav program- Top Gear. I’m not a car person at all but that show is awesome.

All in all a great weekend. This weekend I’m fighting off a cold or something so I didn’t feel like going out too much. I saw the film Oz with my housemates and that was fun but other than that I’ve just been marking and at the gym. Boring but a well needed rest.

It’s been a homesick kind of week. I think I’m ready to come home soon. It’s just so hard to leave a few people behind and start over back in Canada.

Oh one other fun thing, the two empty rooms in my house got filled today. My house now consists of two Canadian girls (myself included), one british guy (Dan) and two Australians. Full house again! Let’s see how this goes.

One thought on “Lazy weekend

  1. Bar and Pub – I never used the word bar until I came to Canada apart from in the 70’s when wine bars were all the rage! So to say pub is a safe bet.
    And it’s Hyde Park in London and High Park in Toronto (but the way Canadians say it it sounds the same to my English ears!) πŸ™‚
    Stop thinking about coming home until it’s time! Make the memories you will look back on in the future

Leave a comment